Tray Platform / Accounts / Your Organization / Manage authentications

Manage authentications

Authentications are used to grant Tray.io the level of access it needs in order to collaborate with the service in question.

They can be shared and saved and moved.

Creating Workflow Authentications

Users can create a workflow authentication from within two different areas, the workflow and the dashboard. Below are some important notes regarding each method that users should be made aware of.

Please double check that the authentication you are creating is being built within the correct workspace. Otherwise said authentication will be available to users you may not wish to give access to.

From the Workflow

When creating an authentication from within a workflow, there are two points to note:

  • When you are editing a personal workflow, the authentication will default to 'personal' (but this can be changed to organizational later on).

  • When you are editing a workflow within a shared or organizational workspace, you can select between the current workspace and the organization.

See our overview of Authenticating connectors for the different types of authentication you will come across in Tray.io. The Service connectors page will link you to specific instructions regarding the service you may need to authenticate with.

From the Dashboard

As well as creating authentications from within a workflow, it is possible to create new personal or shared authentications from the Authentications section of the dashboard.

When you click Create new authentication in the workspace you would like to create an authentication in you can choose the service the authentication is for:

org-manage-auths-new

Basic Editing

Once created, you can edit the basic details of the authentications you have provided you have the right access levels.

This includes the name of the authentication and the workspace it is part of.

org-manage-auths-edit

Updating Settings

You can change the settings and access of authentications created previously - i.e. the parameters you gave said authentication earlier or when it was originally created.

From the 'Authentications' section of the main dashboard next to the authentication in question, select the 'Settings' option from the 'Options' icon.

This step will ask you to re-authenticate as all changes and access to your tools will have to be verified.

org-manage-auths-update

You can also edit the actual authentication credentials itself, such as:

  • The custom domain of the app.

  • The API key associated with the app.

  • The OAuth scopes (i.e. specific 'read/write' permissions to different parts of the service).

Note that when doing this:

  • Changes you make will override existing values.

  • Previously-saved sensitive authentication information will not be displayed.

Moving Authentications

Moving authentications can be risky. Once you move an authentication you are liable to potentially break any Workflow that is currently using it.

Most often you will need to recreate the authentication within the Organization or Workspace you wish to use it in.

For clarity please see the list of move below regarding what you can and cannot do.

Available Auth Moves

  • Personal -> Organizational

  • Personal -> Workspace

Unavailable Auth Moves

  • Organization <-> Organization

  • Organization -> Personal

  • Workspace <-> Workspace

Custom services

IMPORTANT!: Custom services can only be created in a personal workspace. Please be sure to read our note on custom services for important information on how custom services and authentications work across the organization.