Open Navigation

Editing Workflows

Undo Workflow Changes

When making changes to your workflow, it is possible to undo/redo your changes using the appropriate buttons in the top-left corner of the workflow editor:

undo-redo-buttons

Changes are grouped in timed batches. When you undo, it will undo the last three seconds worth of steps (i.e. the last three seconds worth of editing activity as recorded on the server).

Note: when editing workflows you should be careful with refreshing your page. The changes available for an undo action are stored in the current page session and will be lost with a page reload!

Before undoing any changes, you will be informed what changes will be included in the undo:

undo

Once an undo is made you can, of course, redo by clicking on the redo button.

Rollback Workflow History

Beyond simple undo / redo is the much more comprehensive 'Rollback Workflow History' function, accessed via the 'View History' link at the bottom of the workflow editor screen:

view-history

You will immediately see that this allows you to go back through workflow edits made on particular dates.

Important note: the previous versions of your workflow which you can rollback to are only stored for 30 days. So if your last edit was perhaps three months ago then you would see the record of the changes in the edit history, but would not be able to rollback to those workflow versions before the edits.

Note also that the edit history (just the record of the changes) is only stored for 12 months. Also note that the edit history of workflows does not go back further than 1st December 2018 (when this feature was released).

In the following screenshot you can see that the 6th December is selected and there is a 'Rollback to this Version' option for several sets of changes that were made on that date:

rollback-history-1

You will also notice that you can filter changes by users and, for example, select show only my activity':

rollback-show-only-my-activity

Clicking on the search bar will show that you can filter the edits by action, date (before/after) and user:

rollback-search-filter-1


rollback-search-filter-2

Undoing a Rollback

When you rollback to a previous version the rollback will become the latest edit at the top of the workflow timeline:

rollback-as-latest-edit

So in order to undo, you can just rollback to the most recent edit before the rollback (on 7th January in the above example)

Changing Step Input Property Types

Some step input properties can be represented by different types, such as String, Number, Boolean, Object, Array, Null and JSON Path. If you want to change the type for a particular input property, you can use the TYPE SELECT button to the right of the properties label.

change-input-type

Renaming a Workflow Step

You can change the title of a step in your workflow so that it is more identifiable to the task that it is performing. Hovering over a step will bring up the edit name option:

rename-step

Editing Step description

Hovering over a step will also bring up the 'Edit Step Description' option.

Adding Step Descriptions is best practice - it allows you to add a detailed explanation of what the current step is actually doing. This is of great benefit to yourself and particularly to co-workers (particularly less technical ones!) with whom you are sharing your workflows. It is a powerful tool to help them understand what your workflows are doing.

The following animation shows how you can simultaneously explain inividual steps and tell the overall story of what your workflow is achieving:


Replaying workflow runs

In the Logs page (please see the Logs and Troubleshooting article), you can "replay" previous runs of a workflow:

replay-run

This allows you to re-run a previous run of a workflow, based on a trigger that was previously sent.

Common reasons for replaying workflow runs are:

  • There was an error in one of your workflow steps
  • A third party API went down for a long period of time
  • Your workflow is a scheduled workflow, and you want to manually re-trigger it

How replays work

When you replay a workflow run, the original data sent to the trigger is used to trigger the workflow again. If you've made changes to the workflow since the trigger, the workflow will be run using the current workflow configuration. (Not how the workflow was configured when it was originally run)

Running Your Workflow

When you are finished with your workflow or want to test that it works as expected you will want to run it. Most workflows have ENABLE and DISABLE buttons in the bottom right. In order for your workflow to run you need to enable it. Once enabled the workflow will run depending on the trigger that you have set up for that workflow.

If you have a workflow with a manual trigger then you will have a RUN WORKFLOW NOW button which will immediately run the workflow once.

Viewing Advanced Properties

Sometimes a step will have less common input properties which are not displayed by default. These properties are called Advanced Properties and can be modified clicking on Show Advanced Settings in the top right properties menu. Advanced input properties will then be visible along with the rest of the step input and highlighted with a darker background.

show-advanced-settings

Was this article helpful?
Yes
No