Tray Platform / Accounts / Your Organization / Manage workflows

Manage workflows

Being able to manage your workflows effectively means that you are more likely to have a structured approach and be able to filter/ move and edit your workflows with ease.

Understanding workflow directions

Moving workflows is an important step of managing the access to your workflows.

Workflows can be moved between workspaces, but the direction of move depends on the three workspace types: Organization, Personal and shared Workspaces.

In order to move any workflow, you will need a role of 'Contributor' or higher in the destination Workspace (as you do need to right to create the workspaces there).

Potential Workflow moves

  • From a Personal workspace to a Shared Workspace or the Organization Workspace
  • From an Organization workspace to a Shared Workspace
  • From a Shared Workspace workspace to another Shared Workspace

Impossible Workflow moves

  • From the Organization workspace to a Personal workspace
  • From a Shared Workspace to a Personal workspace
  • From a Shared Workspace to the Organization workspace

The reason for limited moving directions is to prevent accidental sharing or restricting access to workflows.

If you need to move a workflow in any of these directions you can still do so, either by duplicating or exporting and importing the workflow into the Workspace of your choice.

Moving workflows

from your main dashboard, find your chosen workflow and select the 'Options' icon and choose 'Move':

Select the Workspace you would like to move the workflow(s) to from the dropdown options available and select 'Move workflow':

Moving other users' workflows

Organization owners and Admins can move workflows located in other users workspaces into the organization or a shared workspace of their choosing.

Movement issues

Important note on moving workflows and authentications

It is currently not possible to directly move authentications from a personal workspace to a shared workspace.

Therefore if you wish to move workflows from a personal to a shared workspace, you must use one of the following methods:

First method

The first method is the simplest. However it will mean losing any log/debug information from your workflow:

  1. Duplicate the workflow into the chosen shared workspace:

  2. Create new authentications for the workflow in the shared workspace

  3. Delete the old workflow in the personal workspace

  4. Delete old auths in the personal workspace

Second method

You can use this method if you do not wish to lose the log/debug info for the workflow you are moving:

  1. Move the personal auths associated with the workflow to organization auths (note that there is an element of risk here in exposing potentially sensitive auths to the whole org - temporarily until you delete them in step 4)
  2. Move the workflow from the personal to the shared workspace
  3. Manually create all auths again for the workflow in the shared workspace
  4. Delete the old auths from the organization that were connected to moved workflows

Important note on custom services

Currently, custom services can only be created in personal workspaces, but are then available for use anywhere in the org.

Once created, custom services can be used to create authentications by workflows in both organization and shared workspaces.

Workflow contains significant data storage

If your workflow contains significant data storage, it may be prevented from being moved. This is deliberate and so as to not accidentally expose important data to new audiences.

We recommend in such scenarios that users duplicate or export/import a copy of their workflow into their target location.

This will reset all stored data.

Connected workflows

You may also be prevented from moving workflows that are connected to authentications or callable workflows not accessible by the destination.

In that scenario, edit the workflow accordingly and remove any connected callable workflows or authentications.

Workflow labels

Tray.io highly recommends adding labels to workflows. It makes filters and searches much easier and helps you structure your projects.

Underneath the title of your workflow, there is a plus sign. Use this to add and create your workflow labels.