Open Navigation

Organizations FAQs

Getting started...

+ Okay, I just got organizations access - where do I start?

Great question! Since you have been designated as the owner of your organization, you need to click on the ‘People’ tab found on the left side of the screen. We have migrated all of your existing users into this tab. As the owner, you will need to assign roles to each of these users within your organization. Once you assign each user to their respective roles, the users will be able access their workflows. If there are new members of the team you also would like to invite to the Tray Platform, simply click into the People tab, and click the “Invite people” button in the upper right. A dialogue box will appear asking you to enter the email addresses for each member of your team you want to add, and click “Invite people.”

+ Done! What now?

Once you add each member’s email address, they will all now receive an email like this:

email-invite

Once they create their accounts, you (the owner) will be able to assign a role for each user. Note: you will not be able to assign a user a role until that specific user creates their account through this email. If your team members do not receive the email, please contact your CSM and they can help you with this.

+ So, what role should I assign to each user?

As the owner, you have the ability to assign roles, change roles, and delete users. You should assign each user “enough” permissions so that they can easily perform tasks that are relevant to their role.

Here’s a breakdown of each role:

  • Organizations are only allowed 1 owner maximum since an owner can see billing details, the analytics dashboard, move, edit, delete, duplicate, or view any public or personal workflows , create or alter any user’s role, etc.

  • Admins have nearly identical privileges as owners except that they will not be able to see billing and contract terms for the organization. We recommend having 2-4 admins for a team of 10-15 users.

  • A majority of your users should be assigned as contributors since this role is designed for the majority of builders. Contributors are able to create, move, edit, duplicate, and delete personal workflows, but cannot delete organization wide workflows. Similarly, they can create, edit, and delete personal authentications. But, contributors can utilize admin-level authentications within workflows, so they will be able to build much faster with fewer hassles.

  • You can also assign users as viewers which would limit their ability to simply view a workflow without any ability to duplicate, edit, or delete a workflow. For more information on roles, please check out the roles documentation here.

Moving workflows

+ I just started building a new workflow, but I don’t feel ready to share it with my team yet. Is that okay?

Yes! When you start building a workflow you are given the choice to leave the workflow set to personal viewing. Once you’re ready to share with other members of your organization, you can move from the workflow builder or from the dashboard view of your workflows.

One note: admins and owners will be able to view any workflow you build - even personal workflows.

+ Can you show me how to move workflows?

Sure thing! Click here to learn more.

Sharing authentications

+ What does it mean to share authentications?

When you build workflows, users need to authenticate within each individual application used within a workflow. Before organizations’ release, some users would have complications building workflows in situations where they were not the administrator of a specific application and this would greatly limit their ability to build complex process automations without these admin credentials.

With shareable authentications, the whole team can now access the admin credentials for their CRM, marketing automation platform, etc. in an easy to use and secure way. Users will now be able to add an authentication to an application within a workflow step, and share it with their whole team in one step. This will greatly reduce organizational complexity and set users up for success when building workflows.

Was this article helpful?
Yes
No