Tray Platform / Your Organization / Managing Workflows and Auths / Managing Authentications

Managing Authentications

Creating authentications from within a workflow

When creating an authentication from within a workflow, there are two points to note:

  1. When you are editing a personal workflow, the authentication will default to 'personal' (but can be changed)
  2. When you are editing an organization workflow, the authentication can only be 'organization'

Note: Please see our overview of Authenticating Connectors for the different types of authentication you will come across in Tray.io, and the Service Connectors page to find the specific instructions for the service you need to authenticate.

Creating authentications from the dashboard

As well as creating authentications from within a workflow, it is possible to create new personal / organization authentications from the 'Authentications' section of the dashboard:

When you click 'Create new authentication' you have the option of making it personal or organization, and you can choose the service the authentication is for:

Editing authentications

Once created, you can edit the basic details of authentications:

From here it is possible to edit:

  • The name of the authentication

  • The workspace (i.e. is it Personal or available to the Organization?)

Changing authentication settings

By choosing the 'Settings' option:

You can also edit the actual authentication credentials such as:

  • The custom domain of the app
  • The API key associated with the app
  • The OAuth scopes (i.e. specific 'read/write' permissions to different parts of the service)

Note that when doing this:

  • Changes you make will override existing values
  • Previously-saved sensitive authentication information is not displayed for security reasons

Permissions notes

Note that Owners and Admins are able to 're-personalize' any authentications back to the creator. Contributors and viewers cannot.

Owners and Admins can edit organization authentications - as in they can re-authenticate with different credentials, scopes etc. Contributors and viewers cannot, and can only view the scopes that have been set for the authentication: