Tray Platform / Accounts / Workspaces / Create and edit

Create and edit

Below is a summary of how users can navigate to their Workspace, create, add people and edit their Workspace members

There are two ways of navigating to your Workspaces. Both views will list the Workspaces in which you are either an Owner or Active member of. Owners will also be able to see Workspaces which they are not an Active member of.

From the side navigation

In your main Tray.io landing page, select your 'User avatar'. A dropdown list of Workspace options should appear.

If you are a member of more than five, you will have to access the other Workspaces by selecting 'All workspaces'.

This should take you to the view within the 'Profile settings' modal, under the 'Workspace' tab as explained immediately below.

From the Workspaces list

Within the 'Profile settings' model, click on the 'Workspaces' tab. Select the Workspace of your choosing.

Click on the 'Options' icon on the left of the Workspace. Select the dropdown option 'Navigate to'.

Creating a workspace

Note that only Owners and people with Administrative level access to an Organization can create new Workspaces.

Within the 'Profile settings' modal, under the 'Workspace' tab there is an option for create 'New workspace'. Select and do as follows:

Workspace details

The steps below are important for helping users easily identify their Workspaces in the future, should more Workspaces be built.

  1. Select a color to represent your workspace. Note that you can choose from the colours presented or create custom one by defining a hex code.
  2. Give your Workspace a name that represents the purpose of your Workspace.
  3. Choose a Workspace purpose. This is to easily identify which business unit owns the Workspace.
  4. Add a description. This will help others understand the purpose of the Workspace.

Adding people

Use the search bar to find someone within your organization you want to add. Click 'Add people' to add them to the workspace

Important notes on adding people to Workspaces

  • You can skip the 'Add people' to Workspaces step during creation by clicking on the 'I'll do it later' option.
  • If you're the Workspace creator, you'll be added as a 'Workspace admin' by default. You can change/ update this access level later if need be.
  • Members can be assigned three access levels:
    • Workspace admin: Can edit a workspace (after creation) to the fullest extent.
    • Workspace contributor: Can contribute to a workspace but cannot change base settings.
    • Workspace viewer: Has only viewing capabilities.

Editing a workspace

Only Owners, Admins and allocated 'Workspace admins' can edit a Workspace.

Note that the below information doesn't apply to your default Personal and Organization workspaces.

There are two approaches available when editing a Workspace:

From within the Workspace itself

Click on the 'Settings & people' option, found on the left hand side navigation.

Below demonstrates getting there, from within a marketing Workspace setting:

This will take you to the 'Workspace details' modal.

From within your default Organization/ Personal workspace

Within the 'Profile settings' model, click on the 'Workspaces' tab. Select the Workspace of your choosing.

Click on the 'Options' icon on the left of the Workspace. Select the dropdown option 'Edit details'.