User Interface Guide
For your applications to gain API access, a master token must be generated:
To manage projects and create solutions for your end users the basic flow is:
Create workflows > Create a project which includes particular workflows > Create a solution based on a project and all its workflows
There are some important points regarding project structure to note:
- As Config Data works at a Project level, it is not possible to add a workflow to a project if that workflow has already been used in a different project.
- Setting Config Data at Project level means you can share individual Config Keys between Workflows within the same Project. Please see the Note on Config Data for an explanation of how this works
- You cannot add a workflow which depends on a workflow from a different project
- You can't add a workflow which has previously been used as a 'template' in the main Tray product. Tray Embedded is a distinct product offering. Therefore when you have a Tray partner account activated, it is strongly advised that you do not try to add previously-created workflows to your projects. You should create new workflows to add to your projects.
You can create new workflows in the usual manner. The important thing to remember is that you must use Config Data settings to specify what data (authentications, system messages etc.) is available for the End User to configure when they are running the End User Configuration Wizard.
In your partner dashboard projects are created in order to group together similar workflows (i.e. workflows that may work with the same connector, or workflows involving connectors for different apps that work together to achieve a common goal).
From the screenshot below you can see that two projects have been created, each with one source workflow:
When creating a project you will be asked what workflows you wish to add to it (remember that you cannot add the same workflow to more than one project):
From any project, you can then make a solution:
When making a solution you can edit the Config Data and use a drag-n-drop interface to specify exactly what the end user will see when they activate the pop-up Configuration Wizard:
The Configuration Wizard is where the end user is prompted to enter the necessary details to activate their own instance of the solution (authentication details etc.) as demonstrated in the below sample screen:
When you have finished making the solution, click 'Save and Publish' will make it live and ready for use.
If the End User needs to see the webhook URL for their Solution Instance so they can configure it with an external service, it is possible to make this visible in the Solution editing interface as the Public Url Label:
The 'Workflow Id' will ultimately be translated into the webhook URL in the End User's Configuration Wizard.
If you make and save changes to a solution (add new authentications, config data etc.) it will be saved as a new version.
Any version of a solution is in 'Draft' state until it is published. You can click 'Save and Publish' in the solution editing interface, or you can publish from the solutions list:
For any Solution Instances activated by End Users, the updates in a new version will be rolled out automatically.
If a new version of a solution is published which contains a Workflow which has been disabled, then:
That Workflow will be disabled for any End User Solution Instances which are activated after that new version is published.
This will not affect any Solution Instances that were activated with previous Solution versions when the workflow was still enabled.
This means that it is possible to disable a workflow if there is an issue with it, then re-enable when needed.