Tray Embedded / Getting started / Organizations

Organizations

What is an Organization?

In the main Tray.io platform you can read our documentation on how a Tray.io Organization works in terms of:

  • User roles and permissions
  • Managing personal / organization workflows and authentications
  • Switching between the personal and organization workspaces
  • Using multiple accounts to manage company departments / regions

How do Organizations work for Embedded accounts?

For Embedded accounts, Organizations follow generally the same principles, however there are some key differences.

Personal / Organization Workspaces

The most important point in an Embedded Organization is that projects and solutions can only be managed in the Organization Workspace.

When you are in the Personal Workspace you will see that you only have access to personal workflows and authentications:

These workflows and authentications can then be moved to the organization workspace.

Then in the Organization Workspace you are able to create, edit and manage organization workflows, projects and solutions:

Authentications

In Embedded organizations, once an authentication has been moved to the organization workspace - it is unable to be re-personalized.

Roles

In an Embedded organization the roles are largely similar with some key differences as outlined below:

Owner

In Embedded the Owner does not have their own personal workspace. They can navigate between the organization workspace and every other user's workspace.

The Owner of the Organization is the only person who can see billing and organization details and settings.

They also have all rights to invite, remove and edit the roles of people in the Organization - with the exception of changing their own role, or deleting themselves.

They have all rights to create, view, edit, duplicate and delete organization workflows and all people's personal workflows. They can also make them organization or personal.

They have all rights to create, view, edit and delete authentications. They cannot re-personalize authentications.

They have a right to create, view, edit, import, export, delete projects.

They have a right to create, view, edit, publish, import, export and delete solutions.

Admin

An Admin has the rights to invite, remove and edit the roles of people in the Organization (including changing their own role).

They have all rights to create, view, edit, duplicate and delete organization workflows and all people's personal workflows. They can also make them organization or personal.

They have all rights to create, view, edit and delete authentications. They cannot re-personalize authentications.

They have a right to create, view, edit, delete, import, export projects.

They have a right to create, view, edit, publish, import, export and delete solutions.

Contributor

Contributor can see all people in their organization, but can't edit their roles, with the exception of their own.

They can create, view, edit and duplicate organization workflows, but cannot rename, personalize or delete them.

They can create, view, edit, duplicate, move and delete their own personal workflows, but not other people's.

They can create and view organization authentications, but they cannot edit, personalize or delete them.

They can create, view, edit, move and delete their own authentications.

They have a right to create, view, import, export and edit projects.

They have a right to create, view, edit, import, export and publish solutions.

Viewer

Viewer can see all people in their organization, but can't edit their roles.

They can see all organization workflows in read-only mode (including logs).

If the viewer was previously a contributor and created workflows that have not been made organization workflows, they can still view them.

They can view organization authentications, but not create, edit, delete or personalize them.

Viewers cannot import and export workflows.

Viewers cannot view projects or solutions.